Needless to say, I’ve lost my inspiration.

It’s been a while since I’ve sat down to write a blog. Honestly, I’m in a writing rut. A big, FAT, stupid, writing rut. Bogged down by work and an overload of repetitive blogs about things I already know, or don’t need to know. I’ve turned to consuming alternative media to get away from it all and so help me GAWD… if I see another “5 Ways to Boost Your [insert social media platform of choice] Presence” post, I’m going to throw my shoe at someone.

Needless to say, I’ve lost my inspiration.

Thought about this a lot yesterday and decided to write a list of things that inspire me, and then act on them. Maybe get me out of this rut? At the very least, it will give me a list of things to turn to in the event of another one.

1. Music

Started my quest on Amazon and iTunes and was immediately mesmorized by the soundtrack to Drive, a movie I’ve yet to see, but now am scratching at the walls to watch.

And what’s with this sudden obsession with Ryan Gosling I’ve developed?

Seriously though, I was curious about this soundtrack after sampling and word of mouth. It’s exciting and suspenseful. And I now want Cliff Martinez to produce the soundtrack of every movie I never make.

I also picked up the new My Morning Jacket for some beard fodder, Childish Gambino’s Camp for a much needed humor refill, and JayZ ‘s Empire State of Mind to help boost my morale when I start feeling down about shoveling out a dozen East Coast storms this winter.

I also bought the Blue Valentine soundtrack because Grizzly Bear [the band] is my spirit animal, and sometimes I just like to go to the “bad place”.

2. Movies

Sit down for this one – I didn’t watch a single horror film yesterday. I actually only have 2 horror films in my top 5 ever:

The Royal Tenenbaums
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
An American Werewolf In London
Creepshow
The Family Stone

That last one totally throws people off. I love it because it has Luke Wilson in it, I’m Rachel McAdams’ character in that film in REAL LIFE, and I secretly wish that Diane Keaton’s my Mom.

I did watch Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. I find this movie so stimulating because no matter how many times I watch it, I always amusingly ask myself ‘would I do that?’

My answer is never the same.

 

3. Photos

I feel like the digital space has raped the allure and memory of a photo with its never-ending accessibility. It just doesn’t mean as much when you can look at it any time with just one click.

I like to take my near and dear and hide them away in albums and boxes – save them for special occasions. What a great feeling when you look at a photo that you haven’t seen in years – it’s uplifting to bring back a memory almost forgotten. ‘I was there. I did that.’

‘I can do that, again.’

4. Baking and Friends

I actually didn’t bake yesterday, but my dear friend Sue did, and brought her harvest over to share. What a pleasant surprise! Especially considering that Liam and I have been living off of steak and yogurt this weekend. We splurged and shared secrets – I’m so grateful for my friendships.

5. Books

I re-read Stephen King’s 1408 in Everything’s Eventual yesterday in search of inspiration for my own ‘this room is haunted’ story.

I also bought Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House because my creditability has been threatened by other horror luminaries about my lack of knowledge and ownership of this book. Problem solved – let’s move on and get s**t done.

After all this, the question is – am I inspired, right? Well, I’d like to think so. I’m inspired to do new things in my life, which may then prompt me to want to write new blogs. So, there’s that.

2 thoughts on “Needless to say, I’ve lost my inspiration.

  1. Ya same on last paragraph. i found this blog in google when i searched, “ive lost my inspiration” the reason why is… Well.. first my intro. I am 19 y/o and a Medical Assistant. i am currently searching for a new job. so my share to you is that, before i became a medical assistant, i used to have so many ambitions. like no kidding. i want to pursue music, culinary, photography, and or pediatrics. but now, after a few months in school. i felt like i wont be able to go back to that state of mind again. its like my life just sucked out from that school. my creativity went down, my inspiration is gray, its like im no longer who i am now. i dont feel like doing any of those things anymore. im so lame… eh. thanks for letting me vent.

    • Thanks for sharing and venting. We all lose our way — the important thing is to recognize it and find our way back. I’ve started blogging for a horror movie site in hopes that Fangoria will recognize my passion.

      That’s right Universe, I just threw that out there. Your move.

      Also — the world needs more culinary creative musicians that can take beautiful pictures. And I am NOT kidding. Please don’t give up, and keep me updated!

      – Stacy

Leave a Reply

