Drew Daywalt Will Direct The Horror Feature Film The Hurting Man

*Original post on the Inside Horror Tumblr blog

Hurting man poster low rez

Great news, you guys! Genre favorite Drew Daywalt has just inked a deal to direct The Hurting Man, a horror feature film following the story of a police officer who tragically finds his family murdered after a failed 911 call and now must work to save their souls from a demonic boogeyman haunting his childhood home.

“I wrote this script and kept it close to my chest,” says Daywalt, “because this one was written from my own worst terrors, both as a parent of small children, and also tapping into my own childhood fears of a hideously costumed boogieman. This one’s going to scare the hell out of everyone. I promise. I can say that because it really scares me, and I’m letting my fear guide me on this one.”

This won’t be the first time that he’s scared the hell out of us.  Drew is the mastermind behind the web series Camera Obscura, and digital channel The Daywalt Fear Factory, home to a whole slew of amazing short horror films including my personal favorite Bedfellows.

For The Hurting Man, Drew will be teaming up with producer Eric B. Fleischman of EBF Productions (Ritual, Two-Bit Waltz), and indie horror luminary and Executive Producer Larry Fessenden (Habit, The Last Winter).

“There’s a certain kind of genuinely terrifying old-school-campfire scare that Daywalt gets right in his Fear Factory gems,” says Fessenden. “I can’t wait to see him nail those chills in a long form film.”

The Hurting Man goes into production this fall and details about the cast are still being kept secret, but the rumor is that horror fans will not be disappointed. And on that note, close sources to the film are saying that there’s a terrifying boogeyman that will inspire iconic Halloween costumes for years to come.

Being quite familiar with Daywalt’s brilliant monster work myself, I can only image the size of the goosebumps this one will give me. I can’t wait.

You can find out more information on the film’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/THEHURTINGMAN.

Leave a Reply

